Havana D´Primera is a Cuban Timba band founded by Alexander Abreu in 2007. The band was formed by a collective of top musicians in the Cuban music scene, numbering 17 members in total. Since their inception they have gone on to find international success. Bandleader and chief songwriter Abreu, has been noted for his 'highly sophisticated melodic voice' and as a 'skilled instrumentalist who has made a career of fusing rhythms across salsa, jazz, funk and Afro-Cuban'.

Since their inception, the band have gone on to release five studio albums and one live album. Following the release of debut album Haciendo Historia with EGREM in 2009, their first release for the Páfata Productions record label - 2012's Pasaporte - was met with favourable reviews from the international press and voted one of the top Latin alternative albums of the year by NPR listeners.

Since then, they have followed the success of "Pasaporte" with four more albums, released through Páfata Productions, and the last one in co-production with the Cuban company Producciones Abdala. "La Vuelta al Mundo" was released in 2015. A live album, "Haciendo Historia LIVE", arrived in 2016 and then "Cantor del Pueblo" in early 2018, which earned the band a Latin Grammy nomination for 'Best Salsa Album'. Finally, the album "Será Que Se Acabó" was released in 2021, as a tribute to Cuban popular music of the '80s and' 90s.